Covid19 Restrictions - what do the Tiers mean for me?

2 December 2020
Covid Teir map

Tiers information script

We know that all the information coming out about COVID19 restrictions are a bit confusing at the minute so here is some basic information about the different ‘Tiers’ and what you can and cannot do

The new tiers have three levels of local restrictions. They are:

  • Tier 1: Medium alert
  • Tier 2: High alert
  • Tier 3: Very High alert

Across all tiers everyone:

  • must wear a face covering in most indoor public settings, unless they have an exemption
  • should follow the rules on meeting others safely (2mtr rule still in place)
  • should attend school or college as normal, unless they are self-isolating. Schools, universities, colleges and early years settings remain open in all tiers
  • weddings and funerals can go ahead with restrictions on numbers of attendees –

15 people can attend wedding ceremonies and receptions

30 people can attend funeral ceremonies but only 15 allowed to the wake

The Tier 2 restrictions mean people must do the following:

  • Not socialise with anyone you do not live with or who is not in your support bubble in any indoor setting, whether at home or in a public place
  • you must not socialise in a group of more than 6 people outside, including in a garden or a public space – this is called the ‘rule of 6’
  • Only pubs and bars serving meals can stay open with last orders at 10pm
  • places of worship remain open but you must not socialise with people from outside of your household or support bubble while you are indoors there
  • organised outdoor sport, and physical activity and exercise classes can continue
  • organised indoor sport, physical activity and exercise classes will only be permitted if it is possible for people to avoid mixing with people they do not live

In Tier 3 which has the highest restrictions you should avoid overnight stays other than where necessary, such as for work, education, youth services, to receive medical treatment, or because of caring responsibilities. You CAN travel through a Tier 3 area as a part of a longer journey

You can find a list of what area is in what Tier HERE